The Knobosaurus DC5R

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Knobosaurus DC5R

So I picked up an 02 Type R DC5 for a steal of a price. Got it home, found out it was filled with problems. But thas' okay. I'm a ghetto mechanic.

The list of problems starts here:

- Bent out radiator support (probably from accident), I think the hood doesn't sit flush because of this.
    - Leaking mc and brake booster
    - No-name short ram intake and 3" exhaust (I'm staying on P's for at least another year so they've got to go)
    - Overspray in so many places (Not noticeable unless you look close)
    - P.O.S head unit (MISSING A TUNER KNOB. WHO STEALS THOSE THINGS?)
    - Malfunctioning mirror motor on the right (No matter what button I push it goes either right or up right)
    - Rusttttttt. Is this common in DC5Rs?

the list goes on as each day progresses.

Updated mods and repairs

- Stealthy stock airbox back on
    - Stock axelback with custom 2.4" system toward engine (Defect killer)
    - Black gunky oil drained out and filled with full synthetic 10-30w. JDM HAMP filter replaced over K&N
    - Complete coolant flush, replaced with OEM Type 2 coolant over existing hulk-colour coolant
    - What looked like engine oil, drained out of the gearbox. Filled with genuine 6 MT fluid
    - OEM Type S head unit in favour of a non-working kenwood single din.
    - Sanded and polished gear knob.
    - Mugen radiator cap
    - Blackworks racing tow hook
    - 67 mm throttle body up from 65 mm (Big gains there xD)
    - Mugen Sports Suspension from an EP3R

Planned Mods/repairs:
    - Catch can (Mugen?)
    - Matching bulbs for hi and low beams
    - Fog lights in air vents
    - JDM Cluster
    - eLtrix's Gramlights or EP3R 17's.
    - Thicker sway bar and general body reinforcement
    - Upgraded mounts

Pics pics pics. I've just spent 9 hours each day working on this badboy. Until I resume my full time job Tuesday

You can deliver your baby into that pipe.