Car Vandals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Car Vandals

Hey guys my car got vandalised yesterday. Long story short there is gearbox oil all over my car. Will it damage the paint? It has recently been resrayed and was cleaned and waxed 2 weeks ago.
    The Gun Metal DC5R

fark! what state/area>

it will damage it if you let it sit take it off ASAP!

Comment

Yeah if you get it off immediately and maybe hit the car with a paint cleaner to take off anything left behind then wax it again it should be fine. At least it isn't brake fluid.

Comment

Sounds like a hell of a mess to clean up.

I didn't think oil would eat into the paint tho isn't it just a lubricant? I wouldnt expect it to be corrosive... (i'm probably wrong) either way i would want to clean it off asap

Comment

im no expert but from my understanding oil becomes acidic over time through heat, oxidising! etc

Comment

Originally posted by l__i__l View Post
            im no expert but from my understanding oil becomes acidic over time through heat, oxidising! etc
            Yeah if it was used oil there could be all sorts of nasties in it, and oil is slightly basic to start with I believe. It also acts as a solvent and it is never a good idea to have a solvent sitting on your paint when it wasn't designed to be there.

Comment

You just had your car resprayed and waxed up, think its someone with a grudge? What kind of car is it?

Quote:
              Originally Posted by justinfox
              You can modify many crappy cars out there to be faster than a real Type-R but no matter how fast they are they still don't knock the Type-R off it's "pedestal" which it so deservedly sits on. :P

JHDM-B18C7 >>>>> Source Code: DC2R 00-0016 SOLD

Comment

Damn!

Comment

fark! what state/area>

it will damage it if you let it sit take it off ASAP!
                  Nsw Hosworthy

Originally posted by ChargeR View Post