Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[DIY] Red Rocker Cover DC5R

Hey guys,
    I've decided to create a tutorial on how to paint your DC5R's rocker cover. This is because I couldn't find a tutorial when I was completing mine that clearly described what was going on, in specific to my model.
    As it's my first time doing a tutorial, I'm open to feed back for future tutorials to determine whether this was effective or not!
    Hope this helps!

You need:
    -Socket set (size 10 usually for DC5's)
    -O-ring spanner
    -Flat head screw driver
    -Plastic (to cover engine bay with when exposed)
    -Degreaser
    -Microfibre
    -Wax and grease remover
    -VHT engine enamel or wrinkle (depending on preference. I chose engine enamel because I personally prefer the shine)
    -Thinners and cotton ear buds OR sandpaper (depending on preference - to take the colour off the HONDA on the rocker cover)
    -Gasket glue

1. Take off the plastic engine cover which covers the fuel rail. This is pretty straight forward - use a socket tool to remove the bolts.

2. Take off the plastic cover that covers the spark plugs. Again, these can be removed similarly to that of the cover above. There are 4 bolts that cover this.

3. There are 6 bolts that are screwed on the actual rocker cover itself that tighten the rubber oil seals that have a silver cap to cover them.
    Take these off, there are three at the top, one on the left and 2 on the back.

4. There is also a bracket that's attached by a bolt around the back left of the rocker cover. This must be removed. You can cable tie this to the sway bar to keep it out of the way if possible.

5. Take these seals off, there should be 6.

6. Undo the spark plug connectors and unbolt the bolts that hold down the ignition coils. The second and fourth one have quite a tricky bolt to undo, so you need a o-ring (I used a size 10) spanner to take it off. I found this took a little strength.