Driving tips - let's help each other

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Driving tips - let's help each other

OK, so i have been driving for 20 years, had a great person teaching me roadcraft since the age of about 5, and been very active in learning how to drive and be safe.

perhaps not everyone is so lucky?

perhaps some people just got taught by a driving scool instructor? or had their parents teach them their bad habits?

whatever...

here are some tips:

1. dont swerve at speed to miss an animal - see: http://forum.clubitr.com.au/showthre...-dead-kangaroo
    2. always leave your car IN GEAR when parked and turn steering to the gutter
    3. learn what ABS feels like in both wet & dry - when you start driving on dirt roads - learn what it feels like AGAIN!
    4. drive with your headlights on (there is a reason why insurance companies provide discounts to fleet cars that have headlights permenantly on)

what are some other tips and hints you may have come across in your time on the road??

and PLEASE dont be afraid to ask for clarification about any tips posted up - this is a learning thread
    ... retired/

Keep left unless overtaking.

I think the motorways/freeways would be much better of people actually followed that rule.

Comment

@Tink,
      What reason is there to leave the car in gear and pointing towards the gutter when parked? I'm assuming this is a theft reducing thing.

Comment

If the car were parked on a hill and the brake lines were cut or failed, the in gear thing would help stop it rolling backward. Also as an anti theft measure it would stop people from just cutting your brake lines and pushing your car away since it's neutral. The turned wheel is for a hill thing again. If your car brakes did fail and you started rolling backward, with a turned wheel, your butt goes into the kerb and stops there with minor rear damage compared to possibly being totaled by rolling down a hill and smashing into something.